What Helps You

find joy?

Hello Friends,

I feel the struggle so many people are going through right now. I see it every day. I’m sure you feel and see it, too.

On Twitter recently, author Rachel Carr wrote: “I don't know who needs to hear this today but you are allowed to be proud of the things you've created even if it's only for silliness and fun....”

I responded: “In the midst of struggle, silliness is a balm for heart and soul.” 

photo: a round pink flying pig on top of a car antenna.

I also remarked that the need for silliness was a big reason why I launched my paranormal cozy mysteries for freaks and geeks in the midst of a pandemic, climate crisis, and massive economic upheaval. I needed a break. I needed something that was pure fun. I needed to let my mind go a bit bonkers and create something truly wacky.

And you know what? I’ve actually been getting messages and emails from readers telling me how much they’re enjoying the series because they needed a break, too.

So today I want to ask: What helps remind you that life can still be fun? What helps you relax, take a moment, and find some gratitude, respite, or joy?

What gives you a break? Is it silly animal TikTok? Spending time with children? Cozy mysteries? Shapeshifter romances? Spaceship butts? Dancing? Gardening? Old Eddie Izzard videos? The Great Bake Off or (my personal favorite) the Great Pottery Throw Down?

I’d love to hear about it.

Wishing you well, as always.

In gratitude (and with flying pigs) — Thorn

A big thanks to those of you who donate for this newsletter, to my Patreon supporters, and to everyone who shares my posts, or passes the word about my books. I appreciate you so much. 

Reply

or to participate.