The Solstice

and rain, and how we shine

Hello Friends,

Solstice will be upon us in a few days. It falls on June 21st this year. The ancients thought the sun stood still in the sky on the solstices. That is literally what the name means: Sol Sistere. The sun seemed to pause for a moment before the earth’s axis tilted once again.

Here in Portland, we’re having a lot of rain. The flowers are damp with it, along with everything else. This is the Portland I used to visit while teaching, years ago. The Portland that hasn’t really existed in the six years I’ve lived here. So, lately I’ve been saying, “This is the Portland I was promised.” The Portland that lived and breathed in soft moisture before climate change became a full blown disaster, and California and Southern Oregon “fire season” became a year round event.

A Walk In Soft June Rain. Image of rain hitting a sidewalk.

I wrote an essay about walking in June rain. Here’s an excerpt:

A crow calls to its mate. Flowers grow past fence posts. On a front stoop, a man in work boots and a ball-cap has an after-work cigarette. He waves and smiles in greeting. I do the same, and continue walking down the city sidewalk.

I am happy to be alive. Happy to feel the kiss of water. Happy for a cloudy June afternoon in Portland, Oregon.

I’m happy now, to be sharing this moment with you.

What moments keep you going? What do you enjoy? What feels sacred to you?

You can read the whole thing here: A Walk In Soft June Rain.

Meanwhile, what enlivens and enlightens you? What helps you remember to pause for a moment?

This coming Solstice week I hope you pause and appreciate all the ways you shine.

best wishes — Thorn

Pride Month Special: My Witches of Portland novel, By Moon, will be free through the Solstice only. Pick it up while you can. I’d appreciate it if you told a friend, too!

Reply

or to participate.