Stories Matter

to our lives

Hello friends,

It’s been yet another tough week. During the course of working, I came across this quote from Lloyd Alexander and made one of my art memes for it:

"Fantasy is hardly an escape from reality. It's a way of understanding it.”

digital collage of quote text over rich, textured backdrop and an open book with magic light swirls.

It got me thinking about the power of stories, and of all the reasons I read and write them. I wrote about the different genres and what they have to teach us.

I also wrote this:

I read and write to understand the world, as Lloyd Alexander says, but also to inhabit a world I’m dreaming into existence.

I escape into stories because my heart and soul need a mirror to comprehend the otherwise incomprehensible.

Stories teach us so many things… Stories give us comfort, courage, hope, and joy. Stories teach us the ways of grief and anger, and making it through. Stories kindle inside of us the will to continue, and to face another day.

You can read the rest over at my website, here: Stories Matter.

How about you? What do stories mean to you? What are you enjoying lately, and in what format: novels, audiobooks, movies…?

What stories are helping get you through?

be well — Thorn

Bookshop Witch is only .99 for the next few days! And for those who’ve been waiting on Book Four, the ebook of Running Witch is out this week.

Paid subscribers, don’t forget Write With Me Saturdays every week! 10am pacific. We’re having fun.

Reply

or to participate.