On Cats

and asking...

Hello Friends,

Some days we have to ask for what we want or need. This is a lesson from a cat.

Yes, it’s another Caturday, and yesterday on my walk, a sprightly black creature raced down from their stoop, through a small garden, and onto the sidewalk to greet me.

And demand pets and scratches. I gladly gave them. Then walked. The cat asked for more. I complied. The cat chased after me for awhile, once I had set the clear boundary that I was getting on with my walk and could not scratch its head all day.

photo: black cat looks up, asking for pets. Sneaker and jeans at the bottom of the frame.

That’s the other good thing about asking for what we want and need: people can say yes and they can also set boundaries. Sometimes that boundary is a solid no, and other times, a compromise is reached.

It’s one reason I like animals. If they’ve been well treated, they know how to ask for what they want and need. A lot of humans have trouble with this because of fears, or conditioning, or past abuse.

But we can all take a breath and learn, can’t we? We can find ways to soothe our animal selves and say “Hey, can I ask…?”

wishing you well — Thorn

Speaking of cats, the Cattitude Bundle is still up for a few days! 10 books featuring cats, including one of mine. It benefits Able Gamers Foundation.

(note: paid subscribers, check your other email from me today. There’s a one time special included).

Reply

or to participate.