What Gives You

Hope?

keep breathing. image of dandlion

Hello friends,

This week has been filled with a sense of hope for me. Yes, the world is still filled with anguish, but I also repeatedly see the ways in which people are showing up to support each other. That always lifts my heart and my spirits.

Also, it is spring here in Portland Oregon, and despite on and off again rain, there are bursts of color everywhere. Dogwoods are blooming, irises wave their purple and white heads, and the Douglas fir branches have bright green new growth on the tips. I’m working on fiction projects because my brain feels more alive again. I’m writing about cats and witches and making plans for sleuthing corgis.

And on one of my “let’s beat the rain” walks this week, I was stopped in my tracks by a spreading bush replete with bright yellow flowers.

close up of a mass of bright yellow flowers

Look at these yellow flowers!

My morning meditations these past months have been a consistent return to breath, centering, and an invocation of hope. It’s nice that invoking hope feels easier all of a sudden. There’s a sense of promise in the air.

So this week I ask: what gives you hope right now? Feel free to write me your answers or log in and leave an answer for others to share.

Another thing that gives me hope? Knowing that you are out there, somewhere, reading this right now. And that’s a form of connection.

I appreciate you.

hopeful wishes — Thorn

This week I was interviewed by the amazing Joanna Penn about doubling down on our weird as creatives under capitalism. You can give it a listen or read the transcript here (or on The Creative Penn on YouTube, or any podcast outlet).

the midlist indie author . stack of books. www.thecreativepenn.com

Join the conversation

or to participate.