Gazing Into the Well

and refreshing heart and soul

Hello friends,

Over the course of the next few months, I’m writing essays for my Patreon folks and sharing them later. I’m calling them Sigils for a Waiting World. Why? Because the world is waiting for kindness. For courage. For discernment. For action. For hope.

And it’s up to us to help.

I’m starting off with a sigil I designed many years ago, called The Well. It’s two circles designed to look as if you are gazing into a deep well, and its purpose is to provide respite and healing, a place to regroup and center ourselves again. Working with The Well, we can take time out of the clamor to deepen our discernment.

We can pause. And breathe. And be.

The Well reminds me to slow down, breathe, and take some time for contemplation. When the world feels literally on fire, it’s easy for us to feel like we need to catch on fire, too. We race around, waving our hands, trying to do something, because clearly, something must be done.

And yes. Something must be done. But getting frantic with it is not helpful. In a crisis, we must act decisively, not from confusion. And in an ongoing—or what I call “rolling”—crisis? We must pace ourselves for the long haul. The world’s problems are not going away, but we might burn out and need to go away ourselves.

two concentric circles, the smaller one touching the top of the larger, which leaves a crescent shape at the bottom. it's as if you're gazing into a well.

…settle in. Slow your breathing down.

Gaze into the water. Let your attention drop into your belly. Keep breathing, even more slowly still.

Then ask, “What do I need to learn from The Well?”

You can read the rest of the essay on my blog. I hope you do the meditation and that working with this sigil helps you take some space and time to feel refreshed and renewed.

best wishes - Thorn

Enrollment for Engaging the Warrior’s Heart closes tomorrow.Also, want some queer cute corgi mysteries? Sign up to be notified when my Pride Street Kickstarter goes live in August!

Reply

or to participate.