An Army of Lovers

cannot fail

keep breathing. dandelion fluff

Hello friends,

As a creative person, a part of me is always attempting to synch up with the creativity of the cosmos itself. In doing so, sometimes what I’m seeking is to restore a sense of harmony and possibility to the world.

This week, I was reminded of an art meme I made several years ago. It was a an old poem by Rita Mae Brown, called Sappho’s Reply. The poem reads:

Shadowy image of two women embracing. poem text reads: My voice rings down through thousands of years To coil around your body and give you strength, You who have wept in direct sunlight, Who have hungered in invisible chains, Tremble to the cadence of my legacy: An army of lovers shall not fail.

I’ve always appreciated the image of an army of lovers being unable to fail, because that’s what it takes, isn't it? Love. And not a weak love, either. A love so strong it will face any obstacle. But not alone. Together.

No matter where we live, or how we live, we can reach out in the spirit of creativity and love, and work to build a kinder, more just world. I just finished the first quarter of a year-long magical working with Tempest Zakroff. A group of us are invoking The Star tarot card as an act of hope during times when so much is crumbling around us.

In our own small way, we are an army of lovers.

How about you? How are you connecting to love right now? How do you kindle hope?

best wishes - Thorn

I spoke with creators Brian and Josie Parker of Believe in Wonder about creativity, magic, and hope. You can listen here: Magic, Creativity, and Life.

magic, creativity, and life. image of brian and josie parker, and thorn

Join the conversation

or to participate.