We Always Have

each other

keep breathing - dandelion

Hello friends,

It’s been another week in the world, huh? Beauty and terror. Joy and despair. It is almost as if every day brings a rollercoaster of emotions. How are you doing with all of this? Are you able to find pockets of creativity and connection? Have you found small ways to act?

I wrote an essay this week called A Home Inside Each Heart. It’s about the importance of caring for each… because when it comes down to it? We are all we have. I’ll post a snippet below.

a home inside each heart. iron gate forming heart shapes.

I admit we are currently in a complete, escalating societal collapse and that the people who have claimed power over the rest of us don’t seem to care. The glorification of material wealth has spawned billionaire oligarchs with politicians in their pockets. The rest of us are one medical disaster or one slender paycheck away from losing everything.

Living under a collapsing empire on a gasping planet is not safe or pleasant for far too many. So, what do I do? What do we do?

I return, once again, to helping where I can. To making sure people have food. To hopefully easing the hearts of those who read my books, watch my videos, or see a picture I snapped of a roadside flower.

It never feels like enough, but in this war of too many fronts, it is still all that I have. Culture change happens when we can imagine something better for each other and ourselves.

As I’ve said hundreds of times: Do what you can, when you can, where you can.

I say a lot more in the essay, of course. You can read it here.

As a creative person, I believe that we can imagine the world we want to live in. As an agitator for hope, I believe that we can build that world together, one friendship and one community at a time.

In the linked essay, I offer a host of suggestions for ways we can bolster each other and help this planet. The main ingredient in helping? Is to not give up.

I hope you find time to create something this week, even if it is only one moment with another human being, animal, or plant.

Wishing you well - Thorn

Good news! I know some of you are missing the ease of having conversations in the comments section. I’m currently researching a newsletter host that seems to offer that. Fingers crossed it is true!

Meanwhile, I have new videos up on my YouTube channel, including additions to my series on kicking out perfectionism in our creative paths.

Reply

or to participate.